Travel Bugg

Regions of Spain: Madrid!!

In honor of Hispanic Day (Día de la Hispanidad) or National Day (Fiesta Nacional de España), my school was given a long weekend with Thursday and Friday off. In Spain, they call these puentes (bridges.)  After work on Wednesday, I took a blablacar and drove the 3.5-4 hours to Madrid to see my friend Amanda. Amanda and I met in college during our study abroad program in Costa Rica. We hadn’t seen each other in almost five years, and it was great catching up as she took me all over the city.

IMG_3302
Amanda and me in front of the Temple of Debod. It was an ancient Egyptian temple that was dismantled and gifted to Madrid in the ’60s after Spain helped Egypt preserve historical sites that might’ve been lost to flooding.

On Thursday, we joined the Hiking Madrid group and visited Toledo, which was once home to a school for translators and boasts a history of three cultures: Islamic, Christian and Jewish. It was also home to the famous Cretan painter, El Greco, who had a home here and painted one of my favorite paintings, View of Toledo, which is on display at the MET in New York. We were able to see his paintings of the Apostles and View and Plan of Toledo in a replica of his house.

IMG_3261IMG_3286IMG_3258IMG_3277

During the week, Amanda took me to famous Madrid sites like the Prado Museum, the Monument to Miguel de Cervantes, El Retiro Park and Chocolateria San Gines for churros and chocolate. I also explored the National Archaeological Museum and some of Amanda’s favorite food places and coffee shops.

IMG_3379
El Retiro Park 
IMG_3369
Chocolate and churros 
IMG_3378
Spanish, English, French bookshop run by some of Layla’s friends
IMG_9837
The Crystal Palace in El Retiro

IMG_9838IMG_3338

I had a great weekend, saw old friends, made new ones, and have plans to return to Madrid in a few weeks to celebrate Tapapiés 2017, which is when restaurants around the city offer cheap tapas and drinks.

IMG_3394
Monument to Cervantes in Plaza de España 

IMG_3395

IMG_3393
Don Quijote and Sancho Panza 
IMG_3318
Royal Palace 
IMG_3375
Islamic architecture exhibit in the National Archaeological Museum 
IMG_3370
Evolution of language and writing systems exhibit in the National Museum of Archaeology 
IMG_3331
Almudena Cathedral
IMG_3330
Toma Coffee Shop 

IMG_3387

IMG_3329
New friend Noelia, from Madrid 

IMG_3364

 


Posted

in

by

Comments

  1. The Wayfarer Avatar

    I wish I could’ve gone somewhere on this long weekend, but I had class Friday and Saturday 🙁
    You’re in Murcia, right? We should meet up!

    1. Ashleigh Bugg Avatar

      Hey, yes! Where are you living? Let me know if you want to hang! 🙂

      1. The Wayfarer Avatar

        I’m in San Anton! Send me a message on Instagram.

  2. […] stands out as my current favorite Spanish city, but I also love Barcelona, Madrid, Zaragoza and Girona, and of course, my Murcia. Thanks for reading and happy […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *